About the College of Design and Social Context

The College’s seven schools encompass RMIT’s art, communication, design, education, humanities, property and social science discipline areas.

Our schools are located across three Melbourne campuses and offer programs locally and internationally.

The College has over twenty one thousand local and international students and a team of over a thousand dedicated academics and teachers. The individual development of students is central to the philosophy of the college and we are committed to fostering an environment which transforms and advances knowledge and professional practice.

Our programs range from certificate through to PhD levels. Programs work in a well established educational tradition dedicated to student creativity and learning and engage in new forms of intellectual and cultural activity. Studies are designed specifically to meet the personal, professional and vocational needs of the student with a focus on academic excellence and employment outcomes.

Our strong research community attracts funding from a range of government and industry sources with over four hundred students enrolled in higher degrees by research.

DSC College Office organisational chart (PDF 74 KB) (updated March 2014)