Smart Specialisation Livewire

Welcome to Smart Specialisation Livewire!

Smart Specialisation Livewire introduces the thinking and practice associated with place-based innovation systems. It promotes the view that successful regional development has a lot to do with regional stakeholders coming together to share expertise and build capability for developing the local innovation system – that is, entrepreneurs, researchers, public officials and community working together to identify key local strengths, and to explore opportunities for innovation that will be competitive in wider markets. This is crucial in the reconstruction phases that so many regions face in the transition from industrial or natural calamity.

This approach has been central to regional development policy in Europe for the best part of a decade. Its implementation has been supported by the Smart Specialisation Platform, based in the European Commission’s Joint Research Centre. Smart Specialisation Livewire has a close relationship with the colleagues at the S3Platform and will share many of the same features.

On Smart Specialisation Livewire, you’ll find:

Text And Media Image


The Centre of Excellence can support regions which wish to focus on strengthening their place-based innovation systems, as a key initiative to promote regional growth. This encompasses advisory services on mapping innovation opportunities, implementing an Entrepreneurial Discovery Process, developing innovation road maps, conducting regional innovation surveys (such as that piloted in Australia by the Latrobe Valley Authority), supporting peer reviews amongst regions that are focused on developing their place-based innovation systems, or assisting regions to develop twinning relationships with regions in other countries.



  • Prof Bruce Wilson
  • Prof Leo Goedegebuure
  • Prof Robyn Eversole
  • Assoc Prof Lauren Rickards
  • Dr Anthony Hogan

Research Officers

  • Chloe Ward
  • Emma Shortis
  • Brad Davison

International associates

  • Professors Lars Coenen
  • Elvira Uyarra
  • Sang-Chul Park
  • Ron Boschma
  • Andres Rodriguez-Pose
  • Bjorn Aheim
aboriginal flag
torres strait flag

Acknowledgement of country

RMIT University acknowledges the people of the Woi wurrung and Boon wurrung language groups of the eastern Kulin Nation on whose unceded lands we conduct the business of the University. RMIT University respectfully acknowledges their Ancestors and Elders, past and present. RMIT also acknowledges the Traditional Custodians and their Ancestors of the lands and waters across Australia where we conduct our business.