Patricia Guthrie Memorial Award

Presented annually to one female Bachelor degree graduate for excellent academic performance and social and community contribution.

What is the Patricia Guthrie Memorial Award?

This prize is presented annually to one higher education female bachelor degree graduate. Only one graduate is nominated by each College in February. The candidate is assessed on their excellent academic record and social and community contribution both within and outside RMIT.

The Prize, provided through the generosity of the Guthrie family, is awarded in commemoration of Mrs Patricia Guthrie who was RMIT’s first female Head of the TAFE School of Communication and Social Science and a valued and much respected member of staff of RMIT.

The criteria for the prize reflects the nature of Patricia Guthrie, her interest in the professional development of women and her immense interest in ethnic affairs and community work.

The value of the award is a one off payment, the value of which shall be based on income from the investment of the ‘corpus’ of the award and a prize certificate.

How to apply

If you have completed an undergraduate degree at RMIT you may be eligible for this prize.

Contact your School or College about submitting a nomination for pre-selection by the end of your final year of undergraduate study.

The nomination must be supported by a complete record of official academic results, highlighting major subjects, a signed statement of highlighting your social and community contribution, and any additional supporting document and a signed supporting statement from the School that nominates you.

The successful candidate is interviewed in March by a Selection Committee, comprising the Academic Registrar (or nominee), and one senior staff member from each College.

The candidate is assessed on their excellent academic record (50%) and social and community contribution both within and outside RMIT (50%) and an interview.

Past recipients

  • 2024 – Amelia Cotsanis, School of Global, Urban and Social Studies (College of Design and Social Context)
  • 2023 – Mary Slayo, School of Health and Biomedical Sciences (STEM College)
  • 2022 – Shamsiya Hussainpoor, Media and Communication (DSC College)
  • 2021 – Rebecca Nielsen, Education (DSC College)
  • 2020 – Molly Coulter, Architecture and Design (DSC College)
  • 2019 – Louella Exton, Architecture and Design (DSC College)
  • 2018 – Eloise Annie Fleming, Health and Biomedical Sciences (STEM College)
  • 2017 – Madeleine Phoebe Buchner, Economics, Finance and Marketing (STEM College)
  • 2016 – Christin Florence Down, Civil, Environmental and Chemical Engineering (STEM College)
  • 2015 – Reem Yehdego, Global, Urban and Social Studies (DSC College)
  • 2014 – Katherine Babatsikos, Business Information Technology and Logistics (BUS College)
  • 2013 – Gemma Kate Freeman, Global, Urban and Social Studies (DSC College)
  • 2012 – Shyneth Sinag Paton, Global Studies, Social Science and Planning (DSC College)
  • 2011 – Jillian Whelan, Applied Science (STEM College)
  • 2010 – Simone Louise Muir, Applied Science (STEM College)
  • 2009 – Sandra Elisa Arico, Global Studies, Social Science and Planning (DSC College) and Aleisha Eileen Dakin, Medical Sciences (STEM College)
  • 2008 – Leyla Acaroglu, Global Studies, Social Science and Planning (DSC College)
  • 2007 – Nicole Melissa Lowndes, Civil, Environmental and Chemical Engineering (STEM College)
  • 2006 – Rhonda Leanne Pratt, Medical Sciences (STEM College)
  • 2005 – Amie Marie Callum, Applied Science (STEM College) and Georgia Elizabeth van Cuylenberg, Applied Communication (DSC College)
  • 2004 – Julie Sinclair, The Constructed Environment
  • 2003 – Nina Ross, Art, Design and Communication
  • 2002 – Adele Demarte, Education, Language and Community Services
  • 2001 – Premila Canagarantna, The Constructed Environment
  • 2000 – Karen Flaherty, Engineering
  • 1999 – Lara Kayess, Engineering
  • 1998 – Fiona Christine Baker, Applied Science
  • 1997 – Rini Akmeliawati, Engineering
  • 1996 – Lynelle Marke, Environmental Design and Construction
  • 1995 – Mathilde Lochert, Environmental Design and Construction
  • 1994 – Angela Healy, Social Science and Communications
  • 1993 – Gina Lloyd-Thomas, Nursing
  • 1992 – Rhonda Trotman, Business
  • 1991 – Rowena Newton, Engineering
  • 1990 – Catharina van Vuuren, Applied Social Sciences and Communications

More information

For more information, email

aboriginal flag
torres strait flag

Acknowledgement of Country

RMIT University acknowledges the people of the Woi wurrung and Boon wurrung language groups of the eastern Kulin Nation on whose unceded lands we conduct the business of the University. RMIT University respectfully acknowledges their Ancestors and Elders, past and present. RMIT also acknowledges the Traditional Custodians and their Ancestors of the lands and waters across Australia where we conduct our business - Artwork 'Luwaytini' by Mark Cleaver, Palawa.