Diversity and inclusion programs

RMIT’s social inclusion programs for students aim to increase access to further education, build a more diverse student population, and provide an equitable and inclusive experience for all students.

Schools Network Access Program (SNAP)

RMIT’s Schools Network Access Program (SNAP) commenced in 2001 as an innovative partnership with a small number of schools in the north of Melbourne, focused on enhancing tertiary access and participation for students from communities that have been under-represented in university enrolments.

The SNAP partnership has grown to include over 150 secondary schools throughout metropolitan Melbourne and regional Victoria.

View the complete list of SNAP partnership schools.

SNAP outcomes

In 2020, 3,751 students received an RMIT offer through the SNAP priority access scheme. SNAP students are represented across 88% of RMIT programs.

SNAP-enrolled student outcomes demonstrate that:

  • pre-entry exploration of disciplines and industry contributes to student success
  • equity scholarships support the retention and achievement of students from disadvantaged backgrounds
  • the SNAP priority access commitment increases opportunity for students from SNAP partner schools
  • SNAP students consistently demonstrate the same patterns of achievement as their non-SNAP peers, with equivalent rates of retention and successful subject /course completion.

I Belong

I Belong is a program of on-campus experiences for selected SNAP secondary school students designed to increase aspiration for tertiary education.

I Belong offers an innovative approach to discipline exploration through applied workshops, presentations from industry experts and peer-delivered modules.

In 2020, over 1,800 students participated in I Belong programs on RMIT campuses. Programs range from multidisciplinary Tertiary Experience Days to five-day intensive, discipline-specific experiences.

I Belong programs are distinctly different across the middle years (Years 9–10) and senior years of schooling (Years 11–12), and align with the student lifecycle and key academic and developmental transition points. I Belong guides students from campus familiarisation and awareness of disciplines, courses, careers and industries, to university access and support programs, through to transition to tertiary study.

Middle years

Programs for Years 9–10 students are applied learning experiences drawing upon key industry partnerships and the opportunities available at an urban university of technology and design.

I Belong middle years programs enable students to:

  • discover and explore a university campus
  • demystify disciplines, careers and tertiary programs
  • experience the city as an exciting and accessible hub of industries and opportunities.

Senior years

Senior years programs build on students’ discipline and career knowledge, with particular concentration on equipping them to succeed in tertiary education. Students undertake practical workshops on topics including time management, becoming an independent learner and choosing a tertiary program.

I Belong senior years programs demonstrate a strong focus on:

  • transition to tertiary studies
  • discipline and subject exploration through a master class model
  • study skills
  • career exploration and development.

RMIT partners with the following organisations to deliver I Belong programs:

SNAP Champions

SNAP Champions are current RMIT tertiary students who applied through the SNAP priority access scheme. SNAP Champions are paid employees of RMIT and contribute to I Belong through the delivery of interactive presentations focusing on demystifying the transition from high school to further education, dispelling myths and misconceptions.

Many of our SNAP Champions have been successful in RMIT’s allocation of $1.6 million in equity scholarships.

Student support services

RMIT receives additional funding through the federal government’s Higher Education Partnerships Programme (HEPP) to provide a range of on-campus and online services to help students succeed.

Learn more about support services available to current RMIT students.

aboriginal flag
torres strait flag

Acknowledgement of country

RMIT University acknowledges the people of the Woi wurrung and Boon wurrung language groups of the eastern Kulin Nation on whose unceded lands we conduct the business of the University. RMIT University respectfully acknowledges their Ancestors and Elders, past and present. RMIT also acknowledges the Traditional Custodians and their Ancestors of the lands and waters across Australia where we conduct our business. - Artwork created by Louisa Bloomer