Schools Network Access Program (SNAP)

RMIT's Schools Network Access Program (SNAP) is one of the ways in which we ensure a diverse and inclusive student population.

The SNAP access scheme is designed to increase tertiary access and participation of eligible students from SNAP partner schools by giving them priority access to RMIT’s certificate IV, diploma, advanced diploma, associate degree and degree courses.

If you are not sure whether you go to a SNAP school, refer to the list of SNAP schools.

Am I eligible?

To be eligible to receive SNAP consideration you must:

  • be an Australian or New Zealand citizen, a permanent Australian resident, or a person seeking asylum
  • be a current student at a SNAP school
  • successfully complete any RMIT program prerequisites and extra requirements.

How it works

To receive SNAP consideration for a given course, applicants must have an ATAR that is within 20 points of the lowest selection rank (including adjustments) for that course. Depending on the applicant’s initial ATAR and the competitiveness of the course, this may deem them eligible for an offer. 

For courses that select on a range of criteria such as folio or interview, SNAP applicants receive equivalent consideration on their performance in these tasks.

SNAP minimum English study scores

SNAP applicants applying for bachelor degree courses are required to meet an alternative minimum English study score. For entry to bachelor degree courses, the minimum English study score for SNAP applicants is 5 points lower than the published English study score.

For example, where a course has a published minimum English study score of 25 in any English (except EAL) or 30 in English (EAL), SNAP applicants must achieve a minimum study score of 20 in any English (except EAL) or 25 in English (EAL). 

How to apply

  1. Apply for courses of your choice through VTAC.
  2. Apply for the Special Entry Access Scheme (SEAS), and answer yes to Question 1 of Category 1.

Application dates

Apply for SNAP through the VTAC Special Entry Access Scheme (SEAS) by the published closing date.

aboriginal flag
torres strait flag

Acknowledgement of country

RMIT University acknowledges the people of the Woi wurrung and Boon wurrung language groups of the eastern Kulin Nation on whose unceded lands we conduct the business of the University. RMIT University respectfully acknowledges their Ancestors and Elders, past and present. RMIT also acknowledges the Traditional Custodians and their Ancestors of the lands and waters across Australia where we conduct our business. - Artwork created by Louisa Bloomer