Academic Board

Reporting to RMIT Council, the Academic Board is the governing body responsible for oversight of RMIT's academic affairs.

Role of the Academic Board

The Academic Board is responsible for governance of all aspects of the University's academic mission inclusive of learning and teaching, scholarship, research and research training. The Board fulfils its responsibilities by monitoring and providing oversight of academic quality, standards and outcomes, academic and research integrity, innovation and risk, and academic freedom.

The functions of the Board are established pursuant to the RMIT Statute No. 1 (Amendment No. 2) and the Academic Board Regulations.

Key functions of the Board include:

  • Approving the requirements for all Higher Education, Vocational Education and Higher Education Degrees by Research awards conferred by the University;
  • Developing, reviewing and approving academic and research policies;
  • providing advice and reporting to Council on academic matters.

Academic Board Membership

The Board is chaired by Dr Sharon Andrews

The composition of Academic Board is outlined in the Academic Board Regulations.

The Board’s membership and is designed to represent the interests and voice of the academic community and students and includes:

  • Ex-officio members: appointed on the basis of their substantive position
  • Elected staff: academic, teaching and professional (2-year term)
  • Elected students:   higher degree by research,  postgraduate,  undergraduate  higher  education  and  vocational education (1-year term)

 

To view the Board’s current membership, forward planner, meeting papers and minutes, and Handbook please click this link (staff login required).

Standing Committees of Academic Board  

The Academic Board has established four standing committees that provide advice and support to the Board.  These Committees work under the guidance of the Academic Board to consider matters set out in their respective Terms of Reference.

As a central component of the University's academic governance framework, the Committees provide independent, academically informed advice enabling the Board to act on the basis of rigorous scrutiny and review at the standing committee level. 

The Programs Committee has been established to provide recommendations to the Board on course and program proposals, and oversight, monitoring and advice on the academic governance aspects of related policies, procedures and quality assurance arrangements.

The Committee provides advice and recommendations to the Board on:

  • Policies, procedures related to program and course design
  • The accreditation, re- accreditation or discontinuation of Higher Education awards.
  • The University’s strategy for the program and course design
  • Admissions standards and English Language entrance requirements
  • The governance of shorter form credentials and non-formal learning
  • The external environment including policy, strategy, trends and innovations
  • Ongoing compliance with relevant legislative and regulatory requirements

 

The Committee is Chaired by Professor Penelope June Weller.

  • View Terms of Reference
  • To view the Committee’s current membership, forward planner, meeting papers and minutes please click this link (staff login required). 

The Higher Education Committee has been established to provide advice to the Board on academic quality and excellence in all aspects of teaching and learning for Higher Education Programs.

The Committee provides advice and recommendations to the Board on:

  • Policies, procedures and quality assurance
  • Internal and external academic quality standards
  • Student progression, academic conduct and academic integrity
  • The University’s Learning and Teaching strategy
  • The external environment including policy, strategy, trends and innovations
  • Academic risk, including relevant findings and recommendations arising from internal and external audits
  • Ongoing compliance with Higher Education legislative and regulatory requirements.

 

The Committee is Chaired by Associate Professor Ehsan Gharaie, who also serves as the current Deputy Chair of Academic Board.

  • View Terms of Reference
  • To view the Committee’s current membership, forward planner, meeting papers and minutes please click this link.

The Vocational Education Committee has been established to provide advice to Academic Board on academic quality and excellence in all areas of teaching and learning for Vocational Education Programs. 

The Committee provides advice and recommendations to the Board on:

  • Policies, procedures and quality assurance
  • Internal and external academic quality standards
  • Student progression, academic conduct and academic integrity
  • The University’s Learning and Teaching strategy
  • The external environment including policy, strategy, trends and innovations
  • Academic risk, including relevant findings and recommendations arising from internal and external audits
  • Ongoing compliance with Vocational Education legislative and regulatory requirements.
  • Oversight of the ASQA Delegations Panel.  

 

The Committee is Chaired by Mrs Theresa Lyford.

  • View Terms of Reference
  • To view the Committee’s current membership, forward planner, meeting papers and minutes please click this link.

The Research Committee has been established to provide advice to Academic Board on quality and excellence across all aspects of research and research training. The Committee is supported by the Graduate Research Sub-Committee.

The Committee provides advice and recommendations to the Board on:

  • Policies, procedures and quality assurance
  • Internal and external academic quality standards
  • Research ethics and integrity, and the responsible conduct of research
  • The University’s Research strategy
  • The external environment including policy, strategy, trends and innovations
  • Academic risk, including relevant findings and recommendations arising from internal and external audits
  • Ongoing compliance with research and research training legislative and regulatory requirements

 

The Committee is Chaired by Professor Lauren Rickards.

  • View Terms of Reference 
  • To view the Committee’s current membership, forward planner, meeting papers and minutes please click this link.

Meeting dates

2022 Academic Board and Committee paper submission schedule

1pm – 4pm

Meeting Number

Meeting Date

Agenda & papers to Members

Papers due to Secretariat

1/2022

Mon, 14 February

Mon, 7 February

Mon, 31 January

2/2022

Mon, 28 March

Mon, 21 March

Mon, 14 March

3/2022

Mon, 9 May

Mon, 2 May

Mon, 25 April

4/2022

Mon, 20 June

Mon, 13 June

Mon, 6 June

5/2022

Mon, 1 August

Mon, 25 July

Mon, 18 July

6/2022

Mon, 12 September

Mon, 5 September

Mon, 29 August

7/2022

Mon, 24 October

Mon, 17 October

Mon, 10 October

8/2022

Mon, 5 December

Mon, 28 November

Mon, 21 November

1pm – 3pm

Meeting Number

Meeting Date

Agenda & papers to Members

Papers due to Secretariat

1/2022

Mon, 31 January

Mon, 24 January

Mon, 17 January

2/2022

Tues, 15 March

Tues, 8 March

Tues, 1 March

3/2022

Tues, 26 April

Tues, 19 April

Tues, 12 April

4/2022

Mon, 6 June

Mon, 30 May

Mon, 23 May

5/2022

Mon, 18 July

Mon, 11 July

Mon, 4 July

6/2022

Mon, 29 August

Mon, 22 August

Mon, 15 August

7/2022

Mon, 10 October

Mon, 3 October

Mon, 26 September

8/2022

Mon, 21 November

Mon, 14 November

Mon, 7 November

1pm – 3pm

Meeting Number

Meeting Date

Agenda & papers to Members

Papers due to Secretariat

1/2022

Wed, 9 March

Wed, 2 March

Wed, 23 February

2/2022

Wed, 20 April

Wed, 13 April

Wed, 6 April

3/2022

Wed, 1 June

Wed, 25 May

Wed, 18 May

4/2022

Wed, 24 August

Wed, 17 August

Wed, 10 August

5/2022

Wed, 5 October

Wed, 28 September

Wed, 21 September

6/2022

Wed, 16 November

Wed, 9 November

Wed, 2 November

10:30am – 12:30pm

Meeting Number

Meeting Date

Agenda & papers to Members

Papers due to Secretariat

1/2022

Wed, 9 March

Wed, 2 March

Wed, 23 February

2/2022

Wed, 20 April

Wed, 13 April

Wed, 6 April

3/2022

Wed, 1 June

Wed, 25 May

Wed, 18 May

4/2022

Wed, 24 August

Wed, 17 August

Wed, 10 August

5/2022

Wed, 5 October

Wed, 28 September

Wed, 21 September

6/2022

Wed, 16 November

Wed, 9 November

Wed, 2 November

1pm – 2:30pm

Meeting Number

Meeting Date

Agenda & papers to Members

Papers due to Secretariat

1/2022

Wed, 16 March

Wed, 9 March

Wed, 2 March

2/2022

Wed, 27 April

Wed, 20 April

Wed, 13 April

3/2022

Tues, 7 June

Tues, 31 May

Tues, 24 May

4/2022

Tues, 30 August

Tues, 23 August

Tues, 16 August

5/2022

Tues, 11 October

Tues, 4 October

Tues, 27 September

6/2022

Tues, 22 November

Tues, 15 November

Tues, 8 November

Further information

Executive support for the Academic Board is provided by the University Secretariat. Any questions concerning the Academic Board or the information on this site should be directed to ab.secretariat@rmit.edu.au.

aboriginal flag
torres strait flag

Acknowledgement of country

RMIT University acknowledges the people of the Woi wurrung and Boon wurrung language groups of the eastern Kulin Nation on whose unceded lands we conduct the business of the University. RMIT University respectfully acknowledges their Ancestors and Elders, past and present. RMIT also acknowledges the Traditional Custodians and their Ancestors of the lands and waters across Australia where we conduct our business - Artwork 'Luwaytini' by Mark Cleaver, Palawa.

aboriginal flag
torres strait flag

Acknowledgement of country

RMIT University acknowledges the people of the Woi wurrung and Boon wurrung language groups of the eastern Kulin Nation on whose unceded lands we conduct the business of the University. RMIT University respectfully acknowledges their Ancestors and Elders, past and present. RMIT also acknowledges the Traditional Custodians and their Ancestors of the lands and waters across Australia where we conduct our business.