Academic Board

Reporting to RMIT Council, the Academic Board is the governing body responsible for oversight of RMIT's academic affairs.

Role of the Academic Board

The Academic Board is responsible for governance of all aspects of the University's academic mission inclusive of learning and teaching, scholarship, research and research training. The Board fulfils its responsibilities by monitoring and providing oversight of academic quality, standards and outcomes, academic and research integrity, innovation and risk, and academic freedom.

The functions of the Academic Board are established pursuant to the RMIT Statute No. 1 (Amendment No. 2) and the Academic Board Regulations.


Key functions of the Academic Board include:

  • approving the requirements for all higher education and vocational education including Higher Education Degrees by Research awards conferred by the University and reports decisions to Council;
  • developing, reviewing and approving academic and research policies and processes and reporting decisions to Council; and
  • providing advice and reporting to Council on academic matters.


The Board is chaired by Professor Mark McMillan. The composition of Academic Board is outlined in the Academic Board Regulations. The Board membership includes students, academic staff, learning and teaching staff. professional staff and senior executives.

Meeting dates

For further information about Academic Board and its standing committees, please visit the Academic Board website.

2019 Academic Board and Committee paper submission schedule


There are two standing committees of the Academic Board:

From 1 January 2020, the standing committees of the Academic Board will comprise of the following committees:

Further information

Executive support for the Academic Board is provided by the University Secretariat. Any questions concerning the Academic Board or the information on this site should be directed to

aboriginal flag
torres strait flag

Acknowledgement of country

RMIT University acknowledges the people of the Woi wurrung and Boon wurrung language groups of the eastern Kulin Nations on whose unceded lands we conduct the business of the University. RMIT University respectfully acknowledges their Ancestors and Elders, past and present. RMIT also acknowledges the Traditional Custodians and their Ancestors of the lands and waters across Australia where we conduct our business.