Consumer Culture Insights Group

We conduct insightful and impactful consumer research to create solutions and develop frameworks that guide theory, policy and marketing campaigns. How can we help you?

The Consumer Culture Insights Group (CCIG) is a group of marketing scholars who study consumer behaviour and emerging markets using research methods with data based on interviews, observations, and focus groups. We examine how lived experiences offer important insights, focusing on consumers' values, beliefs, behaviours, and identities and the ways consumers buy. We also investigate how changes in everyday consumer culture offer insights for the future. Innovative organisations, including firms, governments and non-profits, incorporate these insights into marketing-related decisions in a wide range of ways, including product development, traditional advertising, social media, and branding.

Our expertise

We combine interpretive, critical, socio-historical and cultural approaches to understand consumer actions on multiple levels.

Key research areas

Our projects

Insights

Text And Media Image

Members

We are a dynamic team of marketing scholars with over 50 years of cumulative experience, producing culturally-informed insights into consumer behaviour and culture.

Engagement

Doctoral Studies

Information for prospective doctoral students

Thank you for your interest in doctoral studies in Marketing at RMIT University. Our department is a dynamic, collegial and rewarding place to research a variety of topics in including areas of consumer culture theory including sustainability, gender, markets, branding and wellbeing. We seek only the most intellectually talented, self-motivated, creative and inquisitive students to join the next generation of scholars in the global marketing academy.

If you think RMIT might be the place for you, we encourage you to get familiar with faculty who research Consumer Culture Theory. You can find our work in publications such as Journal of Consumer Research, Journal of Marketing, Journal of Retailing, European Journal of Marketing, Journal of Strategic Marketing, and Consumption, Markets and Culture, and the Journal of Public Policy and Marketing.

If you see your future with RMIT Marketing, please submit your application and make your case. You can find important deadlines and other information for applications for the doctoral program below.

Contact

Visit us

Address: Building 80, 445 Swanston Street, Melbourne,  VIC-3000
Location: Melbourne City campus , Building 80
Hours:
 Monday - Friday 9:00 - 17:00

Postal address

School of Economics, Finance and Marketing
GPO Box 2476
Melbourne 3001, Victoria, Australia

Get in touch

Professor Diane M. Martin: diane.martin@rmit.edu.au
Dr. Amanda Spry: amanda.spry@rmit.edu.au
Dr. Torgeir Aleti: torgeir.aleti@rmit.edu.au
Professor Francis Farrelly: francis.farrelly@rmit.edu.au
Associate Professor Bernardo Figueiredo: bernardo.figueiredo@rmit.edu.au
Dr. Lauren Gurrieri: lauren.gurrieri@rmit.edu.au
Dr. Samuelson Appau: samuelson.appau@rmit.edu.au
Dr. Marian Makkar: marian.makkar@rmit.edu.au

LinkedIn

Partnerships

Network Victoria University of the Third Age logo
ACCAN Austrlian Communications Consumer Action Network
Shequal advertising equality logo
aboriginal flag
torres strait flag

Acknowledgement of country

RMIT University acknowledges the people of the Woi wurrung and Boon wurrung language groups of the eastern Kulin Nation on whose unceded lands we conduct the business of the University. RMIT University respectfully acknowledges their Ancestors and Elders, past and present. RMIT also acknowledges the Traditional Custodians and their Ancestors of the lands and waters across Australia where we conduct our business. - Artwork created by Louisa Bloomer